- How do I obtain a Birth Certificate?
All birth certificates are filed with the Commissioner of Health of New York State. Your birth certificate is also on file in the clerk’s office of the municipality where you were born.
A certified copy or certified transcript of a birth certificate may be issued only:
1. To the person named on the birth certificate, if 18 years of age or older.
2. To the parents of the person named on the birth certificate.
3. To a lawful representative of the person named or the parents of the person named on the
4. To the Commissioner of Health.
5. To a person with a New York State Court Order.
6. To a municipal, state or federal agency for official purposes.
There is charge of $10.00 per certified birth.
You may obtain a certified birth certificate by mail with a written request that contains the name, date of birth, place of birth, father’s first and last name and mother’s first and last name; and
You must provide your current return address along with the requester's relationship to the person on the birth.
The signature requesting the birth must be notarized.
Only money orders will be accepted by mail. $10.00 per Certified copy.
- How do I obtain a Death Certificate?
A certified copy or certified transcript of a death certificate may only be issued:
1. To the spouse, parent or child of the deceased.
2. To a lawful representative of the spouse, parent or child of the deceased.
3. To a person with a new York State Court order.
4. To a person requiring the record for a documented legal right or claim.
5. To a person requiring a record for a documented medical need.
6. To a municipal, state or federal agency when needed for official purposes.
There is a charge of $10.00 per certified death certificate.
- How do I obtain a Marriage License?
Marriage Licenses are valid for 60 days. The marriage must take place within 60 days of its issuance and is not valid for the first 24 hours after issuance. Both parties must appear together at the Town Clerk’s office to complete paperwork for the Marriage License.
Hours: Marriage Licenses are issued between the hours of 9:00 am and 3:00 pm during normal business days, except on the last day of the month when they are issued from 9:00 am to 10:00 am.
Cost: $40.00 cash or check
Documents needed: Proof of age - Drivers License, Passport; birth certificate; and if there were any prior marriages, you must have certified divorce papers with you.
If you have any questions on the above, please call 734-1020
- How do I obtain a Dog License?
In accordance with New York State Law, all dogs 6 months of age or older and any dog under 6 months running at large must be licensed.
Documents needed to license your dog include:
1. Proof of a valid rabies vaccination from your veterinarian.
2. If your dog is spayed or neutered, proof of same.
Unaltered dog - $18.00 per year
Altered dog - $10.00 per year
All dog licenses are to be renewed every year.
For information, call (914) 734-1020
- How do I obtain a Hunting and Fishing License?
All information regarding hunting and fishing licenses requirements and classes can be found on the following New York State Web Site:
- How do I obtain a Handicapped Parking Permit?
Handicapped Parking Permits are issued in the Town Clerk’s Office at the locality where you reside.
A Doctor’s note must be provided with the patients name and address which states if the disability is temporary or permanent.
A temporary permit is issued for a period of 6 months and if there is need to renew an additional doctor’s note must be presented.
A permanent handicapped permit is issued for a three year period. A renewal can be issued without another doctors note at the Town Clerk’s Office.
In accordance with New York State Law, only one permit per patient can be issued. The permits can be used in any vehicle the disabled person is a passenger.
For information or questions, please call 914-734-1020
- What if I need a BUILDING PERMIT
If you are looking for a building permit - please contact our Code Enforcement Division of DOTS at 914-734-1010.
- How do I obtain a Birth Certificate?