Town Clerk/Registrar of Vital Statistics
1 Heady St
Cortlandt Manor, NY 10567

MARRIAGE LICENSES ARE DONE BY APPOINTMENT ONLY, Monday to Friday, 9:00 AM to 3:00 PM, except on the last day of the month.



Marriage License Information:

Congratulations on your engagement. You will need an appointment at Town Hall once your documents are collected and the forms are complete.

Both you and your fiancé must be present to file for your license.

  • You both will need your original birth certificates. If either certificate is not in English, it will need to be accompanied by a certified translation.
  • If either of you have been married before, we will need divorce papers with a “filed” date.
  • You will both need some form of photo ID. Driver’s license or passport is fine.
  • A marriage license is $40.00 – cash, check, credit card (there is a $1.80 surcharge fee for the CC)
  • There is a 24-hour waiting period from the time the license is issued before your ceremony can occur. The license is good for 60 days from the date of issuance.
  • Please fill out and print a Marriage License Worksheet. Each person needs to complete one.
  • You will need to bring everything with you to your appointment.


Commonly Asked Questions:

What are the rules about getting married in the state of New York?


Who can marry us?

  • Domestic Relations Law, Chapter 11, controls who can conduct a marriage in New York State. 
  • Appointments can be made with the Supervisor or Town Clerk to conduct the ceremony upon reciept of your license.
  • A person of your choosing can apply at the same office where you obtained your Marriage License for a One Day Officiant License to conduct your ceremony.


What are the name change Options?

  • View name change rules on the Marriage Name Change Guidelines.
  • A person can change their name every time they get married. Two people can marry each other as many times as they like.


Special Rules:

  • There are unique guidelines for subsequent ceremonies and active military personnel.
  • Persons under 18 years of age cannot obtain a Marriage License in New York.
  • Please review the New York State Department of Health's website for more information or call our office to discuss your situation.